Thursday, January 31, 2013

Muffins and Vacuuming

 
 
Here are some pictures of my boys! They are both doing pretty great. I don't get to take as many pictures as I would like but I manage to capture some fun moments anyways.
 
Enjoy!
 
Mikey has been struggling with Jake working full time and freaks out when he leaves in the morning- every morning. I have been trying hard to distract him while Jake slips out so we made muffins the other day. Mikey stirred the batter and poured them into the cups.

The other day I asked Jake to vacuum up some food Mikey spilled- this is what I saw when I came into the living room. Jake really enjoys being a dad.

Tummy time bonding between boys!
 
Last night during my hour (every night I get one hour to do absolutely nothing while Jake does all the parenting) Jake was feeding Mikey and put Adam on the couch to "sit all by himself." Adam didn't love it, especially since gravity was not his friend.

Friday, January 25, 2013

Crying it Out.

What is with all the anti cry it out stuff that is going around?
Am I wrong or is this a new? It is possible that there has always been a controversy around this topic but I sure didn't notice it before maybe 2 or 3 weeks ago. Is it because I notice things about children and parenting more now that I have children? Who knows. All I know is I don't understand this. Especially when they get so intense. If you want to let your kid cry it out- by all means. If you don't want them to, then rock them to sleep every night, or try a different method of sleep training. (there has got to be more than one right?)
I personally found crying it out to be seriously effective with Mikey and fully plan on doing it again with Adam and all the other Logan children that will follow. Maybe that makes me a bad mom, who knows. I imagine that there are other things that I do that would push me into the bad parenting end of the spectrum- not intentionally of course. But whether I teach my kid to sleep by letting him cry or some other way, there should be no doubt in anyone's mind that I love my child. I don't let Mikey cry because I am an evil vindictive woman that gets her kicks from others sufferings. Nope, that's not it at all. I let Mikey cry because I want my son to be able to sleep by himself. I want my child to learn how to self soothe. I want my child to be independent and I just happen to think that crying is one way for them to learn it. ( I know that studies say that this actually leads to greater dependence and whiny and depressed kids but I think that has as much to do with personalities as learned behavior- but that is just Life According to Meredith- no fancy smancy studies prove my beliefs, not even things I have learned from parenting, just what I have heard from other parents that I happen to think are pretty great at it)
I have read a bunch of the studies because I was taught to learn as much as possible on both sides before I make up my mind- here's looking at you Pops, and I am unconvinced in either direction.  Maybe when my kids grow up there will be proof that letting babies cry it out is cruel and neglectful and causes all kinds of terrible side effects like lack of trust and depression and they won't do it anymore.But my parents did it, my grandparents did it (at least my dad's parents, not sure about my mom's) and my siblings do it too. And me, my siblings and my aunts and uncles are pretty great I think. I think Mikey trusts me and he certainly doesn't seem depressed. I think that I showed Mikey that I loved him and cared about him and he learned to trust me and knew that his needs were met before I ever let him cry it out. Also, I trust my dad, I trusted my mom. 
Just something I have been thinking about ya know? And since I spend all my time with a 17 month old and a 3 week old, this is my outlet. Turns out Mikey and Adam don't care about what I have read on crying it out. Strange huh?
Also, one last point- when I have cried myself to sleep, those were some of the best sleeps I have ever had. ;)

Friday, January 18, 2013

A Family of Four- finally.

I just love my brown eyed boys. Aren't they just so handsome?
Here is my brief update:
Jake- loves his job still; tired from the two kiddos; did Adam's baby blessing on Sunday- it was beautiful; 
Meredith- exhausted; sore; very excited to not be pregnant anymore; even more excited to file taxes- I kid you not, it's better than Christmas for me; started watching Grey's Anatomy while nursing- that show is crazy;
Mikey- starting to get more stubborn; always bumped and bruised; started nursery; knows his nose, ear, eye, foot, mouth, and head- most of the time; says mama, dada, moh (more), done, deah (yeah), do (no)- big fan of d's apparently;
Adam- slowly learning nights and days; champion of cluster feeds; sleeps in 4 or 5 hour periods; works his lungs pretty well; a mama's boy; has dark and amazing brown eyes;
This is what a family of 4 means to me- Jake laughing, me exhausted, Mikey screaming, and Adam starving. It's a pretty awesome life.
The only way to calm Mikey down is to tell him that Baby Adam needs him. He stops crying long enough to give a kiss and a little pat.
The famous baby tux! Adam was a little small for it. Thank you Grandma Jill.

Sunday, December 30, 2012

A Baby Story

Disclaimer: This is a long post so if you skip the words and only look at the pictures, I won't judge- or even know.

Adam Pōki`i Logan
Born 4:08 am
20 inches
9lbs 1 oz
 
Doesn't he look so much like Mikey? I mean he is a lot bigger but still, crazy right? I had Jake take a picture of Adam on the scale just like Mikey so we could really see how similar they look.
Mikey Boy!
18.5 inches and 7lbs 6oz
Baby Adam!

So! Let me tell you all about this. On December 15 I was 39 weeks so I went into the hospital for an elective induction. I got in at about 7am and I was checked and at under 2 cm, posterior, and 70% effaced- not exactly the best start to an induction but I was still started on the pitocin.  My contractions started hard and fast at just the smallest dose and me and Jake were thrilled. We were going to have a baby! But by 3pm, I still hadn't progressed so they turned the pitocin off and once they started it again, the contractions never did. My doctor came in and told me that if I didn't start progressing in the next hour or so I was going to be sent home. Not going lie, as disappointed as I was, I was mostly just so ready to go home, eat and lay in my bed crying while Jake held me.
So we left at about 7pm. We bought sandwiches and Krispy Kremes and watched White Collar on the living room floor.
I cried for a few days.
I cramped and contracted too.
  I went into the clinic on December 26 and they told me I was scheduled for a... citatec? induction late at night, around 11 pm, on Friday the 28th and no matter what happened, we were coming home with a baby this time.
We arranged for Jake's brother and his wife to watch Mikey while we were at the hospital
Well Friday night we were eating dinner and playing a game and the hospital called and my induction time was changed until 8pm! Wahoo!
We got to the hospital a little after 8, I was checked and still only a measly 2 cm, 70% effaced and way off to the left this time. My nurse Jessica, who was fantastic, started the medicine with the plan that I would get a second dose in 3 hours, a third dose in 3 more and then after 4 hours, I would get started on the pitocin.  After 3 hours, I had progressed one cm so they did another dose and man oh man did that stuff hurt. After about an hour, at 1am,  I called the nurse for an epidural because the pain was just too much for me. Dr. Stephensen came in and he was great too. He gave me the epidural and told us all kinds of different stories about crazy labors which stressed out Jessica really bad so she got the labor cart all ready, just in case I started progressing too fast.
And what a good plan that was. The epidural was not working at all. I could feel my legs going numb but the contractions were just as bad, maybe worse. They figured that I was going too fast for the epidural to work. They checked me again and I was 4 cm. They called Dr Somers to come in and break my water, but she lives about 40 minutes away. The epidural still wouldn't work. He kept giving me booster shots and told us stories about his travels to try and distract me from the pain. Dr Somers got to the hospital about 35 minutes later and I was 5 cm. It was 3:15am, and she broke my water and the pain just would not stop. I was basically in tears. And then to add insult to injury, Adam's heart rate started getting really inconsistent. He didn't have enough oxygen to make it through my contractions that were coming about every 1 to 1.5 minutes. Nuts. They wanted to slow my labor down because Adam wasn't doing well and we needed more time between contractions for him to try to get more oxygen. They gave me a shot of some medicine but it didn't work at all. We were pretty nervous. They were constantly moving me around to try to get Adam into a better position and I finally told the nurse that I was in too much pain. We checked me again and I was 10 cm! I did 5 cm in 35 minutes. It was 3:50a and my doctors attending physician just got there (my doc is a resident so another doctor had to be in the delivery room with her). I started pushing at 4 which was such a relief because Adam couldn't get enough oxygen. I pushed for 6 or 7 minutes and then they told me that Adam had very mild shoulder distortia (?) which just means that his shoulders were too big. I had to push a lot harder (luckily my epidural was extremely effective- I couldn't even feel pressure- awesome!) and he came out. A little blue and his cord was double wrapped around his neck with a lot of fluid in his lungs.
But good news- they got it all out of his lungs, the cord was unwrapped, cut and Adam turned pink.
Now he is doing great! Big and great! Mom and Dad are seriously tired, since we didn't get to sleep at all before I delivered but it was worth it.
Now the fun part! Pictures!
Mikey is very intrigued by Adam already. Giving him a kiss!



Our most recent family picture! Mikey does really well with being gentle and just smiles at Adam all the time

Just checking him out before he goes in for another kiss. He wanted to hold Adam and he actually did really well, kept his hand under his head the whole time

Adam stole my bed. But look at how cute! Wide awake and everything!
Adam is doing really well. Big baby, big eater, good sleeper. Likes to cuddle up in Jake's arm just like Mikey did- Jake is excited about it.
I am doing well too. Sore but that is completely to be expected. He is a big baby after all.
Wish us luck on our new adventure.
Hope you all have a great New Years!

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Merry Christmas!

Unfortunately I am still pregnant. But the silver lining on our little black rain cloud is that we got to spend Christmas at home with Mikey. (I was pretty worried that I would be in the hospital for Christmas and Jake said that we would just postpone Christmas if that was the case but his parents were in town and I felt like that wasn't fair to them, but luckily -well sort of lucky- we did not have to worry about it at all)
Mikey is sick so he wasn't as enthusiastic as we thought he would be but he got spoiled rotten. He got a book of 100 words from Uncle Jeff and Auntie Whitney which we opened first- bad idea because then he just wanted to play with the book instead of opening more presents. He got some cute pjs (there is a picture farther down), some onesies, a coloring book, board books, little cars which he also loves and they were seriously tough to open, a winter jacket, a vtech camera (which has successfully distracted him from my camera which is off limits), Horton Hears a Who, and a basketball hoop. From his aunts and uncles he got shoes from Aunty Liz- pictures will come eventually- he loves them, a snowman cup, and quite a few large noisy toys and we have no clue where they will fit but Mikey loves them so that's what counts.
Jake was equally spoiled with all his techy toys- a voltage meter, pliers, mini screwdrivers, soldering iron, a tv mount, all three seasons of White Collar, Green Lantern, Live Free or Die Hard, a coupon book, a face mask - Jake LOVES facials- and we got the Hobbit and the LOTR books from Jeff and Whit- very exciting.
I think I was the most spoiled (well not counting Mikey and Adam's toys from the grandparents). I got a cricut, vinyl, a shelf, Mortal Kombat- seriously so excited about these, all three seasons of Veronica Mars, the Mummy movies, really cute boots a 32 GB SD card, a box of turtles, a really awesome tripod and a new flash for my camera, and... I am forgetting something but you don't really care.
Besides all that, we got lots of clothes for both little kiddos, a crib (!! to be delivered Jan 3), gift cards to Costco, Walmart, and Target, a game called Munchkins, Adam got a plush toy, and a blanket.
We were extremely spoiled but honestly, the best part was getting to spend so much time as a family. Jake's job, which is still excellent, gave everyone almost two weeks off this Christmas and it has been so wonderful getting to have him around.
 
Our Christmas Tree! It was beautiful before Mikey got to it but he enjoyed it so much that I don't mind that it got messed up

Our stockings- we got lots of candies. :D
Mikey was a little crabby- but check out his stash.. It's mostly fruit snacks. He loves those Reese Cups though. He unwraps the foil but unless he gets to eat the paper he isn't interested in the candy. Weirdo.
Also, how adorable are those pjs? Seriously.

Jake with his m&m's

Probably the first picture of me in months- I never get picturs taken and you can't even see my pregnant belly- but this is me, 40 weeks and 3 days pregnant. And I guarantee I am more tired than I look here.

Mikey LOVES his basketball hoop which I am so glad about. Look at how excited he is!

He is so good with it and he took to it right away. Jake showed him once and now everytime he sees the ball he dunks it. I am so proud. We are planning on him being the next Muggsy Bogues. :D
After presents we had a delightful little breakfast and spent the afternoon watching movies together. We finished the day at Jake's brothers house with his family eating dinner and opening the presents from Jake's family. It was a great Christmas and I love how different it feels with a little kid.
I hope you all had great days and be on the lookout for a baby post one of these days. We are hoping on any day now. Be excited- we make cute kids. ;) 

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Oh just an update

Well how about a little update?
Jake
just has one final left- isn't that exciting? yay for the end of school
still loves his job
going to start full time after the baby comes
very excited for his family to come for Christmas this year
anxious for baby Adam's arrival
in reality, he is probably just as anxious as I am- I imagine he is just sick of me being pregnant
getting lots of cool toys for Christmas this year
just cannot wait to be done with school
I am so proud of Jake. Good job, done with school, great dad, wonderfully attentive husband.
I just picked good, that's all. ;)
 
Me
finished with school on campus- I have two independent study class left
still pregnant
being induced on Sunday if the baby doesn't come sooner
pretty sure I will be induced on Sunday
slowly but surely working on cleaning the whole apartment- done the kitchen, living room, and Mikey's room. Stupid bathroom and bedroom- they are killing me
been doing some sewing- made a baby blanket for Adam, matching car seat blankets for the boys
decorated for Christmas- it looks pretty good if I do say so myself
well the tree looked good at first- now only the top half is decorated, silly Mikey
Mikey
crazy energetic
was sick for about 5 or 6 weeks and now that he isn't anymore he is just absolutely crazy
points to my stomach when I ask him to say Adam
knows foot and nose
can say Dada, Mama(rarely), yes, no, and done
picks up his toys and puts them away when we ask, sometimes even when we don't
likes to throw stuff in the trash for us
loves loves loves to go outside
excited to be a big brother
probably about ready for only one nap a day and I am not sure how I feel about that
well that's untrue- I am sure that I am not ready for him to have only one nap a day
loves to play with his little vtech laptop, even though the mouse is broken
loves to play with my extra tripod- I think he'll be a photographer haha
 
Adam
strong heartbeat
big mover
loves Cap'n Crunch (if my cravings are any indication)
coming on Sunday- awesome
 
Well there ya go. Our family update. Not a lot to share. Lots of big changes going on around here and I am nervous, excited, terrified and exhausted about each one. Wish us luck.

Saturday, December 1, 2012

Baby Month

It's baby month.
I literally have never been this anxious for anything in my life.
Not my wedding
Not my first baby
Not high school or college graduation
Nothing.
Notta.
I just gotta get this baby outta me.
I just want to hug him
And play with him
And watch Jake get all nervous because babies are so little
And I want to see Mikey point at him and go bah-bah like he does to all babies- even on tv
My due date is Dec 22.
I am praying that I will have him by the 10th.
That'd put me at 38 weeks.
I think that would be good.
Yeah.
Let's all think good thoughts about the 10th.
Well or the 9th.
Or 8th.
Or any single digit date in December.
We picked a middle name
which turns out makes me more anxious than before
Adam Pōki`i Logan
(Po-key-ee
that's the best I can do in terms of how to say it.
maybe we'll talk in person and I'll say it for you.
Or even better, Jake will.
I suck at Hawaiian. Just ask my sister in law. I can't say my nieces name.
And even worse, I can't hear why it's wrong.
I was made for english it would seem)
His initials will be APL- pronounced apple obviously.
It means beloved little brother.
Kinda.
I am gonna need Jake to explain it to me a little better.
It comes from a speech that King Kamehameha gave
 "I mua e nā pōkiʻi a inu i ka wai ʻawaʻawa. ʻAʻohe hope e hoʻi mai ai"
Go foward my younger siblings and drink of the bitter waters. There is no retreating.
I think it's nice.
I like that is has a story
Plus Adam Pōki`i has a nice sound to it.